QuickMenu Save Document








ITHS Music Students Honored

The HS Music Department held its annual HS Music Awards Banquet recently, hosted by Mrs. Oliveto, Music Department Chairperson.  At the start of the awards banquet, the HS Chorus performed the National Anthem.  All HS music students were given awards for their participation in music performing groups, as well as NYSSMA, LISFA, NMEA All-County, NYSSMA All-State, C.W. Post Tilles Center Festivals, Tri-M Honor Society, as well as many other honors. Outstanding dedication and special awards were given for band, chorus, orchestra, music theory, electronic music, stage/tech crew, drama, drumline, NYSCAME, and Most Outstanding Musicians. 

Seniors majoring in music and related fields in college were presented with JoAnna Ryan Memorial Music Scholarships, presented by honored guests Mr. and Mrs. Esposito, Joanna Ryan's grandparents.   Seniors receiving JoAnna Ryan Memorial Scholarships:  Jessica Barenzano, Dylan Coffey, Shari Freeda, Julia Gagliardo, Eduardo Navarrete, and L Rossano.  Senior Dylan Coffey was awarded a NYSCAME Music Scholarship, chosen by the NYSCAME Scholarship Committee, based on student essays and teacher recommendations for students majoring in music in college.  Talent Show scholarships were awarded to senior Sarah Murphy, and junior Kristina Strang for their outstanding contributions to the Talent Show. 

Thank you to Superintendent of Schools Dr. Charles Murphy, Asst. Superintendent of Special Education Dr. Arlene Sage, Asst. Superintendent of Business Mrs. Susan Hlavenka, HS Principal Mr. Nicholas Grande, and Board of Education members Mrs. Amy Martin, Mr. Brian Fielding and Mr. Michael Rich who were in attendance and for their never-ending support of the music department.  Thank you to Sgt. Michael Williamson and Private Brandon Francis (IT Alumnus) for presenting on behalf of the United States Marine Corps. Thank you to all teachers who attended especially all music teachers and the outstanding work they have done with our music students over the years. We wish all of our music seniors the best as they graduate from ITHS and thank them for their time and commitment to music while here at IT.  Congratulations to all of our music students for their outstanding achievements!

Submitted by Mrs. Susan Oliveto, Music Department Chairperson

In The pictures: Joanna Ryan Memorial Scholarship recipients along with Mr. and Mrs. Esposito, and all music seniors that attended the banquet.



ISLAND TREES U.F.S.D. | 74 Farmedge Road | Levittown | NY | 11756